

American Association for Agricultural Education Fourth General Session Friday - May 23, 2014, 10:15-11:30 a.m. Host: Brian Warnick Western Region Vice President

I.	Call to Order	Tim Murphy
II.	Election For AAAE Leadership Positions Jim Flowers moved to close nominations. Bryan Myers Second Elections held	Greg Thompson
	 Greetings from USDE Steve Brown from US Dept of Ed brought greetings New name: Office of Career technical and adult education Dr. Johan Uvin will be acting Asst. Secretary Ted Mitchell (CA) new under Secretary Shared initiatives on standards, program of study, STEM, Career pathways RFI/ Workforce innovation fund grants, Career Guidance, Perkins reauthorization "Why Rural Matters?" report available and thought we might find interesting National FFA had board meeting on May 5-7, had 2 state leadership conference calls. 2 agriscience students selected by White House to be in White House Science fair next week. Updated on Nat. FFA board-Personally thank Dr. Tracy Kitchel for his representation on the board and his role on the governing board. Formed joint governance committee for FFA board and FFA foundation- have joint Chief Financial officer. (David Schapker) Foundation got a clean audit Developed board strategic plan and future goals 	Steve Brown
III.	 Greetings from NAAE Thank you for supporting NAAE Gave updates on things they are able to do for students and teachers and communities of practice Started a research poster session at NAAE this last year and will continue it. Harry Boone does a great job as editor for The Agricultural Education Magazine Farmer-to-farmer wants to recruit our members to be a part of the program. Please register yourself in the F2F database 	Jay Jackman
IV.	New Business	Tim Murphy
	Action Items From Officer's and Committee Reports	Committee Chairs

	 Move that the Kahler Outstanding Dissertation and Outstanding Thesis Awards be submitted in a manuscript meeting the JAE requirements. Fellows will continue to Review and select recipients. Second-Laura Lemon- Discussion held. Question called Dr. Wardlow Vote- division called- motion passed on standing vote 	
	- Move \$500 honorarium be provided for the Kahler Outstanding Dissertation and Outstanding Thesis Awards recipients (one each, per year) drawn from AAAE general funds. Robert Birkenholz second. No discussion. Motion passed	
	 Move to Accept David Doerfert's bid to serve as Review Manager for a two-year term at \$5,000 per year. Courtney Myers second. Discussion held. Standing vote- passed 	
V.	Other New Business	Mark Balschweid
VI.	Election Results President-elect-Steve Fraze VP of Communication- Emily Buck AAAE Rep to Nat. FFA Foundation-David Doerfert AAAE Rep to Nat. FFA Alumni Council- Susie Whittington	Greg Thompson
VII.	Recognition of Conference Hosts	Tim Murphy
VIII.	Call to the 2015 Meeting in San Antonio May 19-22 12 Host Universities (Marilyn has list if you want) At Embassy Suites on RiverWalk	Jack Elliot and Steve Fraze
	Announcement and Approval of the 2016 Meeting- North Central Region -Move that 2016 National AAAE Conference be held in Kansas City, MO. Passed	Mark Balschweid
IX.	Exchange the Gavel Adjourn	Tim Murphy Donna Graham

Respectfully submitted by

Emily Buck on behalf of Shannon Arnold, AAAE Secretary

American Association for Agricultural Education Leadership Team 2013-2014

Tim Murphy	President	Kristin Stair	Professional Development Chair
Donna Graham	President-Elect	Andrew Thoron	Member Services Chair
Greg Thompson	Past-President	Courtney Meyers	Program Improvement Chair
Deborah Boone	Secretary	Billy McKim	Research Committee Chair
Roger Tormoehlen	Treasurer	Dennis Duncan	National Council for Ag Ed
James Connors	Historian	Rob Terry	NCAC-024 Chair
Emily Buck	V.P. Communications	Barry D. Croom	Editor Journal of Ag Education
Tracy Hoover	V.P. North Central Region	Mike Retallick	Chair, JAE Managing Board
Don Edgar	V.P. Southern Region	Jim Flowers	ACTE Ag Ed Division V.P.
Brian Warnick	V.P. Western Region	Marilyn Trefz	Executive Director

American Association for Agricultural Education Leadership Team 2014-15

Donna Graham	President		
Steve Fraze	President-Elect		
Tim Murphy	Past-President		
Shannon Arnold	Secretary		
Roger Tormoehlen	Treasurer		
James Connors	Historian		
Emily Buck	V.P. Communications		
	V.P. North Central Region		
	V.P. Southern Region		
	V.P. Western Region		
Ryan Anderson	Program Improvement Chair		
Robert Strong	Research Committee Chair		
	National Council for Ag Ed		
	NCAC-024 Chair		
Barry D. Croom	Editor Journal of Ag Education		
	Chair, JAE Managing Board		
	ACTE Ag Ed Division V.P.		
Marilyn Trefz	Executive Director		